## **News Release**



Iowa Association of School Boards®

6000 Grand Ave., Ste. A, Des Moines, IA 50312

Contact: Jen Woodley, jwoodley@ia-sb.org, 515-247-7040

## IASB Welcomes Newly Elected Board Members for District #6

Des Moines, Iowa – The Iowa Association of School Boards (IASB) is pleased to announce the appointments of Randy Bauer and Ruthina Malone as Directors for District #6 in eastern Iowa. The IASB Board is the governing body that ensures the association's mission of advancing public education and supporting Iowa school boards is fulfilled.



**Randy Bauer** 



**Ruthina Malone** 

**Randy Bauer** was welcomed to the board in January 2025. Bauer has served on the Grant Wood AEA Board since 2013 and has been its president since 2018. His extensive local board work includes participating in three superintendent searches, serving on transportation and facilities task forces, and contributing to policy committees. He has also played a key role in several bond referendums and numerous construction projects.

Bauer retired in March 2025 as the Director of Operational Resources at Alliant Energy. In addition to his work with the Grant Wood AEA Board, he served as the Mayor of Walford for 14 years and is currently a member of the Walford City Council. While new to

Vision & Voice for Public Education www.ia-sb.org the IASB Board, he brings a wealth of experience from his leadership roles in various capacities.

He serves on the IASB Compensation and Benefits Committee.

Ruthina Malone was welcomed to the board in March 2025. She has been a member of the Iowa City Community School's Board of Education since 2017 and currently serves as its President. Throughout her tenure, Malone has also held the positions of Vice President, chair of the Policy and Governance Committee, and the Financial Oversight Committee. During her service, the district implemented a new middle school model that required renovations at all three junior high schools. Additionally, Christine Grant Elementary School was opened, named in honor of the University of Iowa's first female athletic director.

Her IASB experience includes serving on the Audit/Finance Committee and as IASB delegate in 2018, 2020, 2023, and 2024. She earned the 2023 and 2024 Individual Achievement Award, and along with a majority of her board, earned the Team Achievement Award in the same years.

Malone currently works at the University of Iowa College and Liberal Arts' Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences as an administrator.

IASB welcomes these two new board members and looks forward to continued growth and progress under the guidance of its dedicated board.

Learn more about the IASB Board of Directors here.