## **News Release**

Iowa Association of School Boards 6000 Grand Ave, Ste A Des Moines, Iowa 50312 www.ia-sb.org



For Immediate Release: February 16, 2021 Contact: Tammy Votava, communications director,

tvotava@ia-sb.org, (515) 250-0571

## 2019–20 Better Boardsmanship Award Winners

Education leaders recognized for commitment to learning

Des Moines, Iowa – The Iowa Association of School Boards (IASB) awarded 73 board members, five board teams, seven superintendents and one chief administrator with a 2019–20 Better Boardsmanship Award. The annual awards are given to individuals and teams who dedicate time and effort to learning, advocacy, leadership and service projects to expand their knowledge and skills for better governance.

The pandemic has presented many challenges to public schools, and school leaders have risen to meet these challenges with innovation, solutions and support. We commend these award winners for tirelessly working for lowa students, while finding time to invest in their own learning.

These awards, normally presented during the IASB Annual Convention in November, were mailed to winners due to the virtual format of the event.

**Individual Achievement Awards** were presented to 73 board members from 39 K-12 school boards, five area education agency boards and one community college. Individual award winners are listed on the <u>IASB website</u>.

Ames Schools	Fairfield Schools	Murray Schools	Springville Schools
Anamosa Schools	Grant Wood AEA	Muscatine Schools	Starmont Schools
Aplington- Parkersburg Schools	Green Hills AEA	New London Schools	United Schools

Ballard Schools	Grinnell-Newburg Schools	Newton Schools	Waukee Schools
Boone Schools	Harlan Schools	North Cedar Schools	Waverly-Shell Rock Schools
Cardinal Schools	Heartland AEA	Northwest AEA	West Delaware County Schools
Cedar Rapids Schools	Independence Schools	Norwalk Schools	
Center Point-Urbana Schools	Johnston Schools	Pella Schools	
Central DeWitt Schools	Kirkwood Community College	Saydel Schools	
Charles City Schools	Le Mars Schools	Sheldon Schools	
Colfax-Mingo Schools	Lewis Central Schools	Sibley-Ocheyedan Schools	
Colo-NESCO Schools	Marshalltown Schools	Solon Schools	
Decorah Schools	Mississippi Bend AEA	Spencer Schools	

**Team Achievement Award** plaques were presented to five school boards with a majority of individual board members who won the Individual Achievement Award and for having a board development policy in place:

Charles City Schools Solon Schools

Le Mars Schools West Delaware Schools

Marshalltown Schools

The Award of Honor was presented to seven superintendents and one chief

administrator who invested time and effort to build skills and knowledge needed to be informed decision makers:

Mike Fisher, Charles City Schools

Theron Schutte, Marshalltown Schools

Laurie Noll, Fairfield Schools Dan Cox, Northwest AEA

Laura Kacer, Johnston Schools Davis Eidahl, Solon Schools

Steve Webner, Le Mars Schools Kristen Rickey, West Delaware Schools

Please visit the **IASB** website for a full list of award winners.