2021 Fiscal Management Conference

Wednesday, July 21, 9 a.m.3 p.m.
The Meadows Events & Conference Center, Altoona

Register Now

Join us in person for the 2021 Fiscal Management Conference! We’ve got all the school finance info you need in just six hours: Federal stimulus funds, key insights from legislators, state budget overview and pandemic recovery, and the relationship between student equity and dropout prevention. This conference is capped at 80 attendees and has required COVID-19 safety protocols. When you register, you will be asked to confirm you will adhere to the following protocols in order to attend.

Current Safety Protocols for the IASB Fiscal Management Conference

As we return to in-person events, IASB is committed to ensuring member and staff health and safety. We are monitoring public health conditions and may make modifications to the following safety protocols if guidance changes closer to July:
  • Required face coverings
  • Social distancing
  • Hand sanitizing stations

The event venue has a full list of health and safety guidelines currently being implemented.

Please note that all materials will be provided digitally before the event and will be available on this webpage to follow along during the conference. There will not be any printed materials.

General Sessions

Featuring...a legislative panel with some of the most influential senators and representatives, and for the first time ever, you’ll hear from the new Director of the Department of Management, Michael Bousselot!

The Federal Stimulus: How to Get the Most Bang for Your Buck(s)
Iowa Department of Education

As more federal money becomes available to school districts, it’s important to know how you can spend those funds and for what purposes. The Iowa Department of Education will provide guidance and insight to ensure you get the maximum benefit from these additional funds.

Legislative Panel: Key Takeaways from the 2021 Session and What’s Ahead for 2022
Senator Amy Sinclair, Chair, and Senator Herman Quirmbach, Ranking Member, Senate Education Committee; Representative Dustin Hite, Chair, and Representative Ras Smith, Ranking Member, House Education Committee
A panel discussion among the most influential legislators when it comes to education issues. They will detail legislative actions from this session and their impact on school districts as well as what they see as the top concerns heading into next school year.

Dropout Prevention: How to Prioritize Equity in Your District
Brad Buck
, Superintendent, Waukee Schools; and Joel Pedersen, Superintendent, Cardinal Schools
Equity in public education is a top priority, and school finance is part of that puzzle. Hear from two superintendents who are striving for student equity in their districts by tackling key issues like dropout prevention.

State of the Budget: Where We Stand as We Begin Post-Pandemic Recovery
Michael Bousselot
, Director, Department of Management
Hear from the new director of the Department of Management, Michael Bousselot, on the current state of our budget as the state moves into recovery from the pandemic.

Featured Speakers

Individual Speakers

Michael Bousselot Headshot Michael Bousselot
Director, Department of Management
Brad Buck Headshot Brad Buck
Superintendent, Waukee Schools
Joel Pedersen Headshot Joel Pedersen
Superintendent, Cardinal Schools

Education Committee Members

Amy Sinclair Headshot Senator Amy Sinclair
Chair, Senate Education Committee
Herman Quirmbach Headshot Senator Herman Quirmbach
Ranking Member, Senate Education Committee
Ras Smith Headshot Representative Dustin Hite
Chair, House Education Committee
Ras Smith Headshot Representative Ras Smith
Ranking Member, House Education Committee

Registration Details

Fee: $140 per person, $170 after July 9. Fee includes program, digital materials and lunch. Note: Due to the registration cap, we will not allow walk-ins on the day of the conference. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Register Now
   For questions, email Michelle Johnson or call (515) 247-7055.

Conference attendees earn
15 Better Boardsmanship credits!

Learn more about
Better Boardsmanship Awards